A lookback of the 2022 Australian Superbike Championship season finale from The Bend Motorsports Park in the Supersport, Supersport 300 & Oceania Junior Cup support categories

by Sports Benches

Also looking back at a bright weekend of the 2022 ASBK finale from Tailem Bend in SA was the support categories, where we saw three more of their own class champions being crowned alongside Mike Jones in the Premier Class.

We’ll start with the SuperSport 300 Race 3 edition and we saw two thrilling battles that defied the Top 3 podium. The first battle for 2nd during the first-half of the seven lap distance was Taiyo Asku & Sam Pazetta – who fought very hard back and forth for P2 – before Pazetta  spun out into the gravel that sadly ended his race early with an DNF.

If that’s not enough, why not check out Cameron Swain v Hayden Nelson for the last podium place when the early DNFs of Henry Snell & Sam Pazetta saw them move up a few track positions. Nelson may have had a sniff a few times on Swain’s No.26 bike, but we love the way Swain held off Nelson on the run home in P3 behind runner-up Asku & race winner + champion Cameron Dunker who had an outstanding 2022 in the SS300.

Then we move onto the second-tier SuperSport group in Race 2, with Harrison Voight being too good all along from start to finish in 1st. Ty Lynch finished 2nd after a decent fire off from P5 on the grid – even though he’s still limping some pain ahead of Dallas Skeer who rounds off your Top 3- while John Lytras finished in 9th where a Top 10 run here was enough to keep Lynch out of reach with the SS title. 

Congratulations to John as he may not have the budget to move into the Superbike class just yet, but this 17-year-old has a huge future ahead regardless of wherever he ends up next year which could mean another SS year here as the defending champion.

And we round off with one more support category champion left to crown in the Oceania Junior Cup (Race 3). It was a quiet first 2-3 laps when Bodie Paige led the way before Teerin Fleming & Ryan Larkin came knocking on his door with two laps left. In the end, it was Larkin who took home the race win on what has been an amazing finish by the Top 3 riders, with Harrison Watts winning back-to-back titles after he finished P8.

You may also like

Leave a Comment